Curriculum Vitae

 

Detailed CV | Brief CV

Name:  M. Balakrishnan

Date of birth: 28th Aug. 1956

Address for correspondence:

Postal address:    Profesor, CSE Department, IIT Delhi, New Delhi 110016
Email:                 mbala@cse.iitd.ac.in
Telephone:          11-26591285 (office) 11-26863014 (res)
Facsimile:           11-26581060

 

Field(s) of specialization:

Behavioral and system level synthesis
System level design & modeling
Computer architecture
Hardware-software codesign
Embedded system design
Assistive devices for the visually impaired

 

Academic qualifications:  

Ph.D.(EE)                      1984     IIT Delhi           
Thesis title : A Microprogram Generating system with Emphasis on Signal Processing Architectures)
B.E.(Hons.)(EEE)            1977     BITS,Pilani         First rank in Engg. in 1977(CGPA : 9.77)

 

Positions held, Date of joining and the Institution (In reverse chronological order):

Position Period Place
Professor Aug. '97 - Present Dept. of CSE, IIT Delhi
Deputy Director(Faculty) July '09 – June '12 IIT Delhi
Dean(PGS&R) Sep. '06 – Aug. ‘09 IIT Delhi
Head Sep. '01 - Aug. '04 Dept. of CSE, IIT Delhi
Visiting Prof. Aug '94 - Jul '95 LS Informatik XII, Univ. of Dortmund
Associate Prof. Apr '91 - July '97 Dept. of CSE, IIT Delhi
Assistant Prof. Dec '88 - Mar '91 Dept. of CSE, IIT Delhi
Visiting Scientist May '88 - Dec '88 Institut fuer Informatik, Univ. of Kiel
Assistant Prof.
Sep '87 - May '88
Dept. of ECE, Syracuse Univ.
Research Associate
Sep '85 - Aug '87
Dept. of CIS, Univ. of Guelph
Scientist
May '77 - Aug '85
CARE, IIT Delhi

 

Awards and fellowships:

Name of the body

Year of award

Nature of the award

IIT Delhi Golden Jubilee Committee

2010

Mentor Award

Vasvik Award 2005

2008

Research that is industrially relevant

SIGDA (given at DAC 2007)

2007

TODAES 2007 Best paper Award

DAAD, Germany

1994

Konrad Zuse fellow

NRDC, India

1982

NRDC invention award

BITS Pilani

1977

Silver medal (I in Engg. 1977)

NCERT and IARI

1972

NSTS Scholarship (Agri. Engg.) Not accepted

Birla Higher Secondary School

1972

Best School Boy Award

 

Professional Achievements and contributions:

Key Outside IIT Delhi Memberships and Roles:

 

Referees (detailed office/residence addresses or phone numbers on request):

Within IIT Delhi

Prof. Surendra Prasad, Director, IIT Delhi, New Delhi, 110016
(sprasad@ee.iitd.ac.in/ director@admin.iitd.ac.in)
Prof. Anshul Kumar, Professor, CSE Department, IIT Delhi, New Delhi, 110016
(anshul@cse.iitd.ac.in)
Prof. S.N. Maheshwari, Professor, CSE Department, IIT Delhi, New Delhi, 110016
(snm@cse.iitd.ac.in)

Outside IIT Delhi Within India

Prof. P.V. Indiresan, Ex- Director (IIT Madras) and Retd. Professor, IIT Delhi
(indiresan@gmail.com)
Prof. P.C.P. Bhatt,  Retd. Professor, CSE Deptt., IIT Delhi
(bhatt_pcp@fastermail.com)
Prof. B.N. Jain, VC, BITS Pilani, Pilani, 333031
(bnjain@cse.iitd.ac.in)
Dr. Sanjiv Narayan, Vice President, Calypto Design Systems, NOIDA
sanjiv@calypto.com
Mr. V.B. Taneja, Retired Senior Director, MCIT, New Delhi
(vbtaneja@gmail.com)
Rangasayee R, Director, NIHH, Mumbai
rangasayee2002@yahoo.co.in

Outside India

Prof. Peter Marwedel, Department of Computer Science, University of Dortmund, Germany
(peter.marwedel@udo.edu)
Prof. Sharad Malik, Department of Electrical Engineering, Princeton University, USA
(sharad@princeton.edu)
Prof. Vishwani Agrawal, Aubrn Univrsity, USA
vagrawal@eng.auburn.edu
Prof. Nikil Dutt, Department of Computer Science, University of California,USA
dutt@ics.uci.edu
Dr. Adhana Hailey Adhana, Ex-State Minister of Education, Govt. of Ethiopia, Ethiopia
(now Advisor to Ministry of Education, Ethiopia)
Mr. Rajesh Jeetah, Minister of Education, Govt. of Mauritius, Mauritius

 

Detailed CV | Brief CV